Where I’ve Been & Where I’m Going: Holiday Edition

Happy Holidays Everyone! You may have noticed that I’ve been less than active on here and on social media. Honestly, things in my life have been pretty hectic, but even with all of the chaos, I wanted to take some time to chat with you all about where I’ve been, what I’ve been doing, and where I would plan to go moving forward.

Where I’ve Been

Shortly after my surgery recovery, and continuing in the spirit of 2019 (aka absolute raging dumpster fire luck-wise), everyone and their mother got sick. The flu, bronchitis, stomach viruses–you name it, we caught it. Basically, I plan to spend the rest of this year dumping Airborne into the water supply of everyone I know.

During this time, which will henceforth be known as The Great Plague of 2019, I did get to spend a ton of time reading, and discovered that Simone St. James is the new literary light of my life. I plan to review a few of these books in the near future, so keep an eye out for those if you enjoy reading about reading.

I also watched an absurd amount of television, the highlight of which was finally getting to watch Flea Bag on Amazon Prime. If you haven’t had a chance to check it out yet (and you are not offended by dildo-centric comedy) you absolutely need to take some time for this show. It’s hysterical and heartfelt, and I can honestly say that I have not enjoyed a television show this much in a very long time.

Other than recuperating, I’ve also been busy experiencing as much of New York at Christmastime as I physically can. Growing up, coming into the city during the holiday season was one of the highlights of my year. I have a handful of moments and memories that sort of define Christmas for me, and clutching a hot chocolate in one hand and my mom’s hand in the other while staring up at the Radio City Music Hall’s marquee is one of my most treasured. The holiday isn’t the same without the city, and since I wasn’t able to make it here the last two years, doing a New York Christmas properly was one of my top priorities this year.

I was also lucky enough to spend this Christmas surrounded by family. This year was challenging, but the hardest part of all was nearly losing my cousin in October. My cousin Ceilie is like a sister to me, and in October she was in a devastating car accident. We thought we were going to lose her, but Ceilie shocked everyone with her strength and resilience. She has made it through numerous surgeries, multiple hospital stays, and tons of physical therapy, and came out the other side able to spend Christmas with us at my grandmother’s home. Through the nightmare of her journey, the brightest light has come from those who know her and our family. The outpouring of love and support has been breathtaking, and we are all so grateful to everyone who was there for us.

Gratitude has become the cornerstone of this holiday season for me. Through everything that has taken place, I have discovered how deeply grateful I am to everyone and everything in my life. I have seen exactly how easy it is to lose what you have–your health, your stability, and your loved ones–and I have seen those who come forward when the unimaginable takes place. In times of tragedy and disaster, my mother always tells me to “look for the helpers.” There will always be the people who run into the wreckage to hold the hands of the injured. Those people showed up for me and my family, and I will never forget that.

I am also so grateful to you. In the past few months, I have been absolutely stunned by the people that have reached out to me about my little blog. There is nothing that I love more than writing, and this was just intended to be a fun space for me to throw words on a page and vent about plot holes. Instead, so many people that I never would have expected have reached out to me about what I have written here. I have felt such a connection with everyone who reads my words, and I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart. Thank you for taking the time to read what I have to say and for supporting my in what I love most.

Where I’m Going

2019 has been a colossal rollercoaster. I started a new career, moved to Brooklyn and then to Jersey City, gained a partner, lost an organ, gained some new friends, reconnected with some old friends, and learned exactly what is most important to me. I have gained so much clarity that I will carry with me into this new year.

I plan to devote more time to this space here, and write as much as possible. I’ll continue to write about books, movies, tv, and my personal life, but I also plan to focus more on other subjects that interest me, like health and beauty. You can also expect a recipe here and there, and maybe a video game review, who knows? I have some pretty big things planned for this year, so keep an eye on this site to follow along with me as I give 2020 all I’ve got.

I hope you have all had a wonderful holiday season so far, and I wish you the happiest new year!


Posted

in

by

Comments

One response to “Where I’ve Been & Where I’m Going: Holiday Edition”

  1. Carmen Cavallaro Avatar

    Maggie
    So glad you’re feeling better! I love reading your blog and Look forward to more adventures with Maggie.
    Beautiful work. ♡

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment